IGNORED

battery jump starter recommendations

dasstr

Wondering if anyone is carrying a portable battery jump starter with them in their travels? If so, which one and would you recommend it? We have 10 bikes of different makes - BMW, Honda and Triumph. Been looking briefly, but would like to hear your experiences.

TIA

I studied for a long time before purchasing mine. There are some good threads on ADV forum. Of course, there are many opinions too. One common problem however is the bulging and splitting of the case and danger of a fire of many of them. I finally made up my mind and purchased an EarthX jump pack. They use a different chemistry battery which can withstand higher heat and has fewer dangers, and made in the US. So far I am very pleased with it. It does not have as many options on different charging ports for other devices, only gives one usb charging port for phones etc. I have yet to jump a bike with it, but have used it on my lawnmower and several cars and even pick-up trucks and it has worked everytime.

Thanks for the input. I did check ADV forums and other motorcycle forums that I have joined. Didn't like the reports of bulging and splitting, and also the warranty problems associated with the Anti-Gravity units. I will check out the EarthX unit.

Debbie

Lots of these things available; check price and reviews, then make your choice. There is a tradeoff between size and capacity, but look for the largest mAh hour rating your can find, at least 14,000. I thought about packing mine for the UnRally, but decided it was overkill. After 2 years, the case looks fine, no signs of bulging. I have only used it once, to test with a VTR250, and the engine turned over very quickly.

Sorry, I'm on the road, and don't remember the make/model, but it ran around $70 2 years ago.

I have one of these.