IGNORED

New southern NH RT Rider

nh_handyman

A suggestion in another thread was to introduce myself in this forum.

I'm new to the RT world - I have yet to even ride mine.

Bought a 2016 R1200RT from Second Wind BMW (now National Powersports) of Merrimack, NH in mid December.

Its Ebony Metallic with keyless start, traction control, hill assist, shift assist (what ever they call those fancy things).

There are a lot of things to get familiar with on this bike, nevermind just the added power I'll have.

My wife and I went in to look at a 2006 they had on sale, and ended up with a brand new 2016. Oh ya, SENA headsets between the helmets.

Prior to this bike I had put close to 50,000 miles between 2001 and 2013 on a BMW R1200C. While riding that bike I was a rather active poster on the chromeheads forum tracking down a few electrical issues and even solving a 'Y2010' bug in their forum software (I'm a software engineer by trade). There are a fair number of RT forums out there.

Before 2001 I spent two or three seasons on an Yamaha Virago 750 which after a spill and insurance payout, I upgraded to the BMW and never looked back.

I'll be on the bike as much as possible to work, to where ever I can and my wife and I hope to be taking some weekend trips around Southern NH/ME/MA/VT. I also ride as long as possible into the fall/winter and with the heated grips/seat I expect that will be extended a bit longer with the RT.

I've been trying to digest the options I have for storage, highway pegs, aux lighting all things I'm 90% sure I'm going to want to add to this bike. I'm also finding lots of forums that cover the RT so I guess I'm glad I picked it up in the winter so I can do all my catching up while sitting at a desk.

Brian

Hey Welcome Brian - this is a great spot for info and advise on the RT. A little quite now during the holiday's and snow season, but a great bunch of people.

BTW - From what I hear of the 16 model, you're going to love it.