IGNORED

rear splines lube

pdpwcd

just finished rear splines lube used Honda Moly 60 think this is the right stuff it was not too easy this time hope its easier the next but I was very glad I did the splines were bone dry have 10400 miles

just finished rear splines lube used Honda Moly 60 think this is the right stuff it was not too easy this time hope its easier the next but I was very glad I did the splines were bone dry have 10400 miles

Honda Moly 60 is discontinued, Guard Dog Moly can't be found either. I haven't heard of a good replacement.

Jay

I've been using Loctite LB8012 moly paste for the past six years. 65% moly, seems to be readily available, sometimes packaged as Loctite LOC51048 or just plain Loctite Moly Paste.

Searching Amazon for Honda Moly 60 only turns up Honda HN 08798-9010 (M77). Looking for the the MSDS for that, I'm taken to the sheet for Dow Corning MOLYKOTE® M-77 paste, so apparently it is just re-labeled for Honda.

The M77 might be a better choice than the Loctite just because it is available in small tubes. Costs/ounce are not that different, but I have enough Loctite that I might need to mention it in my will.

Edited by lkraus
LittleBriar

I know there's already been discussion about this on wetheads elsewhere, but what's the consensus? Should the rear splines be inspected/lubed regularly and at what mileage? As far as I can see there is no schedule in the manual.

I know there's already been discussion about this on wetheads elsewhere, but what's the consensus? Should the rear splines be inspected/lubed regularly and at what mileage? As far as I can see there is no schedule in the manual.

Afternoon LittleBriar

Obviously BMW engineering doesn't think there is a reason to do so.

It's not a sliding or wearing area so the lube is mostly to keep the spline joint from rusting or corroding tight.