IGNORED

Compressors

Doug_Baliko

Doug_Baliko

Hi,

I am new to compressors and would like to know the best way to use one. I have a 6 gallon electric pancake unit. The manual says that when idle I should shut it off and let out the air so condensation doesn't build up in the tank. I wasn't expecting that. Is that really necessary? I'll only really be using the unit on weekends. Mostly to run my bike lift table and air in the tires. Etc. All light duty general stuff. Can I leave it on all weekend, and just let the air out at the end of the weekend?

Doug

Hi,

...Can I leave it on all weekend, and just let the air out at the end of the weekend?

Doug

That's the way I always intend to use mine. Then I hear it running Tuesday midnight after I'm in bed and trudge out to the garage in my bare feet to turn it off.

Better to turn it off when you quit working.

I see you're in Texas. The dry side, or the humid side?

I have several compressors at work. They run 24/7 (or I guess I should say the air is in use 24/7). Yes, they do fill up with water. For instance I empty one about once a week. There's maybe 1/2 gallon in there, in a 20 gallon tank. It all depends on your ambient humidity, the on-time, and perhaps some other factors. It doesn't matter if it's warm or cold out.

If you're just using it occasionally on weekends here and there, you could probably ignore it. Of course, yes, the best procedure would be to shut it off and drain the tank, especially if you're looking at long term storage. But I've seen a lot of compressors with remarkable amounts of water in them, and the owners don't seem to know or care. Besides the tank rusting, a significant amount of water reduces the useful size of the tank. Eventually it will lower your CFM, increase the on time of the motor, and lead to premature failure.