IGNORED

Dual Sport Tire Wear

Bill_Walker

Apologies in advance, because this has nothing to do with a GS. But that's true of many threads in this subforum, so I figured it would be OK, and this would be where the dual-sport gurus would hang out.

I have very little dual-sport experience. I've got a 2012 Kawasaki KLX250S dual sport that I bought used with 3719 miles on it. I bought it mainly for the commute to my volunteer gig, which is 38 miles of pavement, much of it on fun, twisty roads, followed by 1.2 miles of washboard dirt road, one way. It came with a set of Dunlop D605 bias-ply tires on it. They looked pretty new. I'm not sure if the dealer installed new ones, or if they were the originals, or if the PO took them off right away and re-installed them before trading the bike in. At any rate, I put 3653 miles on them, and they wore pretty evenly.

When it came time to replace them, I'd been pretty happy with them (I was frankly surprised at how well they stuck on pavement), so I wanted the same thing. Either the D605 is no longer available, or it's OEM-only, and Dunlop recommends the radial D606 for the bike. So I go with those. Now, 2314 miles later, I've got some weird wear that I didn't see with the 605s.

My front tire, after 2314 miles, looks like this (front is to the right):

24716256298_b978202f87_z.jpg

Meanwhile, the rear, after the same mileage, looks like this (also front to the right):

24716256748_67a90f1f37_z.jpg