IGNORED

K1300GT 2009 rough idle

Utazo89

I bought few months ago this used bike. I like it a lot. It had two problems. The heated seat was not heating, (I fixed it) and it has a rough idle. (it also backfires during deceleration, but I've read that it happens, when the muffler is not OEM).

Once the engine is warm, the idle is a bit better, but the needle is moving up and down a bit. I am new to this system, so I cannot tell, if that is normal, or not? Could it be the plugs? I have service records, but I cannot see, when the plugs were replaced. Could it be a ' recall issue ', which was not done? Please, advice. Thanks.

Edited by Utazo89

I was having significant fueling issues on the 2009 K!300GT I bought used last summer. Rough idle, stalling, etc. Took it to Max BMW where the mechanic updated the fuel system with the latest software updates, and that fixed it. Bike runs perfectly now and there are no more fueling issues to report.

Engine pulls like an ox, but then you know that by now. Congrats on the bike!

A

Edited by beemerman2k

That was it, mostly, but the stalling was the most annoying. I'd coast to a traffic light or a stop sign and next thing I know, my engine is no longer running. Hit the starter button and it fires back up, but still. No such issues now. Fueling is finally up to the standards of the rest of the motorcycle.

I called the bmw service, where this bike was always serviced and the mechanic said that my bike is updated on the software. He asked me to bring it in and they will check it out. We figured out that the plugs were not replaced for at least 2 years now, so I might order that and some testing on this idle problem. The muffler is not OEM, which could be another reason for the fluctuation. I'll know more after Thursday and I will share.