IGNORED

R1150 RT Dropped

BMW Commuting Guy

BMW Commuting Guy

So on my lunch break I popped to the market to get some food and on my return outside the office I just dropped my bike. I thought I had put the side up and as I lowered it down I lent it a tad to far to recover once I noticed. So now once a perfect bike has now got:

Scratched Engine

Scratched slightly wing mirror

scratched pannier

Im so bloody annoyed with myself as I always check it is up. I suppose wing mirror and pannier cover can be completely replaced but what about the engine cover. The pannier is not paint is it, its like a coasting of something. Can this be fixed?

Any advice please guys for a complete novice on DIY anything.

Welcome to the community.!! 2004 is a great year to own.

All of us sooner or later drop our bikes, welcome to the club. I've dropped mine on both sides. :dopeslap:

The scratched engine,, is this just on the valve cover?? I put on a set of cover protectors which hide the

damage. Replacements are costly.

Check with a local body repair shop for ideas on pannier repair.

I'd leave the mirror as a reminder to check stand.

Good day.

BMW Commuting Guy

Having calmed down a little, looked at the cost to directly replace parts, re looked at the bike and taken some pics. I may just leave them apart from adding on the cover protectors as suggested.

pictures are attached but pannier picture not great. Damage was pretty bad on the pannier, deep scratches.

6806.jpg.4ba41f4f4ee4612bc5f7bbd352fc9cab.jpg

Well, a replacement rocker cover from James Sherlock / Ebay / Motorworks isn't out of the question.

Pannier lid is going to take a hit whether you ger some engine protector or not.

If you get the pannier lid and Mirror housing repaired at a body shop it will not cost you the earth if you shop around.

But those little plastic valve cover protectors :