IGNORED

ABS problem 04 R1150RT

pixturethis

I was bleeding the abs to wheels last week with a low battery and now with a new freshly charged battery, when I turn on the key I get the abs light blinking fast and the brake light is on. I have disconnected the brake levers to make sure it wasn't a bad switch. I'm hoping it just needs to be started, to get ride of the ABS light. I'm I right in my thinking?

I'm new to the BMW world, and none of my other bikes have ABS. I did get the fluid changes in the ABS unit and the brake reservoirs.

Thanks Marc

A fast blinking brake light on ignition on along with the fact that you brake light is staying on is an indication that a brake switch is always on. It could be the foot brake and well as the hand brake. On my 04 RT is has always been the hand brake. I could usually push the lever away from the handlebar and it would self correct. Just for my information I slightly pressed the foot brake while turning on the ignition and I got the same results. Is your servo also continuously running when you turn the ignition on? It should be since your brake light is on.

I just tried pulling the front brake out when turn on the key, problem fixed, thank you so much, I was scared I did something wrong and did not want to buy a new ABS unit.

Crazy how ABS works.

Thanks again Marc.

I'm glad I was able to help. What is actually going on is that the ABS unit cannot go thru its self test if the brake switches are depressed enough to make the brake light come on. The fast blinking light indicates self test unable to complete.

I see, so what do you do if you have to start the bike on a hill, can it do the self test after you start rolling?

Morning pixturethis

It will straighten itself out after the bike starts rolling off with no brakes applied.