IGNORED

Shiny things for just-bought 2018 RT

MightNotBeThere

MightNotBeThere

Hello everyone,

It's been a while since I've posted here as I've been GSA-ing for a few years, but am now back on an RT again. Hope it's the right decision!

There are a few items that I'd like to add to the bike almost immediately:

- Engine guards ( possibly rear case guards). Any recommendations as to manufacturer?

- Paint protective film

- Top case (probably Shad) for occasional use

- Fender extenders (at least in front, undecided about the rear)

I'll also install (taken off my GSA) Clearwater lights / Steibel horn (if it will fit) / radar detector / laser jammer / auxiliary brake light

I don't want to festoon this thing like a Christmas tree, but I would like to do it all at once.

Is there anything that the collective wisdom suggests is essential or at least really useful?

I'm going to think about ergonomics (Russell etc) after I have a few miles on the bike.

Alex

Edited by Alex_OL

Sounds like you have a good plan! :thumbsup: What color did ya get?

Just an FYI, if you ever wander back to the dirty side you need not leave, plenty of GS riders here! :beer:

Pat

Hello Alex

My ‘14 RT came with engine guards (brand unknown) but I would not recommend them as they have to be loosened if not removed to remove the valve covers. I've seen Ilium bars mentioned a lot on this forum. The tank slapped.biz has the paint protection film kit. I just installed a MachineartMoto fender extender that fastens on with screw clamps vs double sided tape and is longer to keep more spray off the engine. Tour rear fender should have the ability to drop down once you loosen a screw in the center. I went with the factory top box and added the factory light hooked up to a Skene Design controller so it can act as both a marker and brake light. But some of the SHAD boxes can expand and contract in size as needed.

Have fun!