IGNORED

First BMW

Emfour

I've been riding since 1984. Picked up my first BMW this week, a 1996 R850R. Got a deal too good to pass up. It's got 43,000 miles, but it's in good shape. What should I look for? Anybody else has one out there?

I've been riding since 1984. Picked up my first BMW this week, a 1996 R850R. Got a deal too good to pass up. It's got 43,000 miles, but it's in good shape. What should I look for? Anybody else has one out there?

Morning Emfour

What should you look for? -- Good riding roads!

Michaelr11

If the original black rubber brake hoses are still on the bike, get them changed out for a set of stainless brake hoses. Speigler makes a good kit.

WELCOME!! Congrats on the New 2 You bike! How about a few photos when you get a chance?

Do you have any specific concerns at this point? You've come to the right place, but maybe narrowing down your request for information will help us point you in the right direction.

If the bike is so new to you at this point that you don't have any immediate issues, the well intended and light hearted advice above about finding some roads and enjoying the bike (if she's road worthy) will be time well spent getting familiar with her and no doubt will provide a starting point for questions.

Welcome and enjoy!

Greetings & welcome Emfour...