IGNORED

Duolever Durability?

eliastfk93

Hello all,

I've been riding oilheads for the last 8 years. Ive come to really love the telelever front suspension. Ive done some pretty extreme riding in pretty extreme places and have never experienced a failure on any of the 3 bikes that I've owned prior. I am considering moving on to a post 2005 K-Bike, as I want more power and water cooling. My question is this: how tough are the duolever units on these bikes? I ride daily in Houston, TX and our roads are among the worst in the country. Can the duolevers take the abuse?

Don't recall issues 05'-13ish dealing with them.

Things change, maybe visit K site and look, haven't been over there much this year after selling my GT

but don't recall any issues.

Dennis Andress

Get a K13, not K12.

Some reports of lower ball joints that wore out. Didn't fail, just got loose. The steering was described as "flopping from from side to side at low speeds." I think it happens on bikes with more than 30K. Other than that, there is nothing in the fork that will fail from bad roads. Extreme roads, maybe...

• 2 weeks later...

That was one of the few things on my 2007 K1200GT that I did not have a problem with. This included hitting a pot hole so hard that it bottomed out the suspension and bent the front rim. But no issues with the duolever in 85k miles over 10 years of use. I liked that it gave me a little feedback compared to the telelever setup on the other BMW bikes.

They are plenty durable.

I think in 09 (?) they did an upgrade to increase the input to the rider.

I rode two new ones back to back both gen, of the front ends and to me, there was a big improvement in feel .

Pretty sure it was changed in 09.

I worked at a dealership then so it was commonplace to do rides to ahem, enhance ones product knowledge.

• 2 months later...