IGNORED

HES (Hall Effect Sensor) Replacement Options (R1100RT)

Dave R1100RT

Entering my 3rd summer with a 2000 R1100RT ~46K

Trying to learn what I can about the bike while doing my own maintenance. I enjoy the aspect of riding and working on what I ride. I am no mechanic by any means. But feel confident that most maintenance tasks, with some info and help from here, I can usually handle. This site has been an invaluable resource. I am often blown away by the knowledge that resides here. Thank you for that.

I am currently gathering options for preventative replacement on the infamous HES. This is what I have come up with so far.

1.) Buy new HES For alittle over $200

Bosch 12 11 2 306 137 replacement from

www.beemerboneyard.com (great resource/excellent cust serv)

www.euromotoelectrics.com (great resource/excellent cust serv)

2.) Get your HES rebuilt - ~$150

Contact Tom Wade @ tom@wade.name

You send him your old plate, he remove's all the wire and the two sensors, replaces the two sensors with new, and renews the wiring. You get back your old plate and your old connector.

3.) Tom also has wire available for cheap - $2-$5

Buy Upgraded Wire and rewire yourself, and replace the two sensors at the same time....total ~$50

Tom sells the wire in two different versions. One is the exact same wire Charley was selling. Four strands of #26 wire, 18" long, in the right colors. $2, plus sase

Problem he's been hearing is that most people are having trouble fishing the new wire into the old shield and sheath. He's also been unsuccessful at this.

Second version is four strands of #26 wire, 18" long, in a shield, in a sheath. The colors are almost right, but not exactly. This is much easier to use, and was much harder to find. $5, plus sase.

This info came from an email I received from Tom - and I hope he doesn't mind that I share it here.