IGNORED

Now I'm paranoid

made2care

I am still learning the ins and outs of this bike. Just finished watching a video on the Hall sensor. My bike is almost at 60,000 miles and I'm planning a trip.

Should I get this replaced. There is some discrepancy in terms of setting the timing during this replacement, is that necessary?

Not to sound too critical but why did engineers not wrap the wiring in heat resistant material or did they and its just a matter of time until the wires are compromised.

Should I be concerned? Anyone out there never replaced theirs and have high mileage?

I understand you have an '04 1150RT. The hall sensor failures are more prevalent in the earlier 1100's. I wouldn't worry about it.

Very little to be concerned about. My '04 RT has about 90k and I've checked the HES sensor harness a few times over the years and it's in perfect shape. The issue was with earlier 1100's as stated.

Ride and enjoy. the '04 1150's were among the best that BMW made.

Set the timing? Should I use my dwell meter? :)

RPG

I've got over 173k on my 04 RT now with the original hall sensor. Never had a problem with it. I worry about more about if my tires will last for this trip then anything else.

Well this is good to know.

Thanks, now I have peace of mind and am ready for a trip.

I changed the oil , anything else i should do before the trip. New battery has helped on start ups. Tires are Michelin and in good shape.

Not to sound too critical but why did engineers not wrap the wiring in heat resistant material or did they and its just a matter of time until the wires are compromised.

Because the time period this bike was designed corresponded with new Euro regulations that automotive wiring harnesses be biodegradable. Oilhead are ticking time bombs in this regard. The next generation bikes have CanBus.

Edited by lkchris