IGNORED

brake bleed screw

JamesW

I somehow got volunteered to have a look at a guy's 2000 K1200LT to find out why it looses front brake fluid from the reservoir. Took about a millisecond to find the pin hole leak in the line running from the front brake master cylinder to the junction block located under the front of the fuel tank. The owner ordered a new line from BringMoreWallet which I will install and do a brake bleed/flush.

My question is what is the fitting which is obviously not a bleeder screw on the right front brake assembly located where one would expect to find a bleeder screw? I removed the fitting which required a heat gun as it was put in with red loctite. Luckily I had a couple new speed bleed screws which I had bought for the brakes on my '93 R1100RSL which has the same Brembo brakes as this light truck.

I have no experience with the K1200LT having never owned one. If I were the owner of this 833 pound mechanical wonder I would certainly replace all brake lines ASAP or I would most definitely sell it and buy a real motorcycle instead of a pick-up truck on two wheels. :rofl: Sorry but I just couldn't resist expressing my humble opinion of this two wheeled chariot.

Edited by JamesW

Afternoon James

That is the factory fill plug (brake system was originally filled & back flushed form that plug hole, then plugged off).

There was a BMW service bulletin to replace that plug with a standard bleed screw if required but most were left in place so the owner would return to the dealer for future brake service.

Suggest you use a vacuum bleeder or a hand pump style bleeder rather than doing the old squeeze on a bike of this age.

You may be opening a can of expensive worms by breaking thru the "crud line" inside the master.

And yes, have the guy replace them all as next to go will be the left caliper line.

Suggest you use a vacuum bleeder or a hand pump style bleeder rather than doing the old squeeze on a bike of this age.