IGNORED

Rear wheel sensor or what?

MichiganBob

Hi Everyone. My latest ride is a 2012 1200rt. Loving the bike. Took a trip last weekend -- 800 miles. About 50 miles out, brake failure light came on. I tried different ways to reset it, checked fluids, and just kept on going figuring that I would not have any ABS. Brakes worked fine. Since I've been riding since 1968, I figured I can be fine without ABS. At the same time, noticed that my cruise control and self-cancellation feature of my signal lights was not working. Then during the trip, found that my speedometer does not start working until I'm 10-15 minutes down the road. Then it starts up and works fine. Not sure if these four issues are connected or not. I'm thinking that the brake failure light, cruise, and cancellation is the rear wheel sensor and the speedometer is a front wheel sensor. It seems unusual that two sensors would go at the same time. So, any thoughts on this. If a rear wheel sensor, any advise on how it is changed. I'm not sure what it looks like when it enters the rear drive housing so I want to be careful about doing any yanking on it.

Your insights, as always, is appreciated.

MichiganBob

Actually, the speedometer signal comes from the rear wheel speed sensor, so that one component could cause all your problems.

Jim von Baden has a pictorial on changing FD oil here. Step 4 has several good pictures showing the speed sensor location. I think your bike has the wire routed a little differently than the '07 model shown, but it should be very similar otherwise. I'd start by examining the wire for pinches, scrapes and cuts, then make sure the connection to the wire harness is making good contact.

Edited by lkraus

Morning Bob

It does kind of point towards the rear wheel sensor (chafed pig tail or lots of metallic crud on the sensor itself).