IGNORED

How did i blow my rear main seal ?

hunter63

Greetings,

I am a newbie to this site so please bear with me if I am posting in the wrong spot. I filled out my profile sort of but I was not sure where to submit a intro so I left it blank for now.

I have a 2004 R1150RT that has a bad oil leak in the R.M.S. area. I have spent many hours trying to make sure that is where my leak is before I tear into it but so far no luck.

When I bought the bike it had a blown head gasket. After I changed the gasket I flushed the motor with a mix of diesel and oil.

My plan was to fill the crankcase with a diesel and oil mixture and then cold crank the bike......

I believe I overfilled the crankcase with my diesel mixture and when I cranked it (run switch off and plugs out) I created a hydraulic action which dislodged the seal. I know it should have expelled the excess fluid through the vent tube that dumps into the air box right? For some reason I believe it did not vent like it was designed . Has anyone ever heard of such a thing happening before ?

The bike had no leaks before the repairs to the head were completed. It was never started until after the leak was noticed. The only time the engine was turned over was during the cold crank with the diesel mix in it.

After draining the diesel/oil mixture out I changed the filter and added the right amount of oil. I then took the bike around the block once in hope that the leak would go away. It did not.

I have checked for a blocked vent line and have also removed the starter and exhaust but everything points to a leaking rear main.

I will start my tear down this weekend . I will post my findings.

Thank you

Hunter,

Looks like a teardown is the only way to definitively diagnose it, as well as repair it if it is the RMS.

You might be prepared to replace the clutch disc, plus a few other parts that might/will pop up.