IGNORED

Learning to ride

Green RT

Someone who knows me might think that learning to ride a motorcycle would be an unlikely topic or maybe a visit to the past some 60 years and 800,00 km (500,000 miles) ago when I started riding two-wheeled powered vehicles. Over those 60 years I have owned and ridden 6 motorcycles from a 50 cc Moped sold by Sears when I was 13 years old to my current 1200 cc BMW. I probably should have mastered the art of riding years ago, but I am not exaggerating when I say that it is only in the last few years, maybe the past year, that I have really started to master one skill. And I am not talking about the gradual and continual refinement of skills that comes to anyone who persists at something over time. I am talking about mastering a fundamental skill.

Most of my riding has been commuting or running errands. In the process I racked up an impressive number of miles on city streets and freeways. Occasional cross country trips have involved a few winding roads but precious little of my time has been spent on them. I have never taken a riding class, but somewhere I picked the technique of counter-weighting* a bike to make tight turns in parking lots and slow speed situations. A few years ago I realized I was applying the same body position to cornering at higher speeds where it doesn't work so well, that is to say, where it is exactly the wrong thing to do. Counter weighting provides the maximum amount of lean for a given speed, whereas what is needed at speed is to lean the body into the turn and minimize the amount of lean for a given speed. All of this is probably obvious to most riders and it is to me now, but I have to confess I was slow to come to that understanding.