IGNORED

Newbie Camhead Question

Medic Mike

Medic Mike

Evening everyone:

This may be an inane question, but as states above I am a newbie to the Camhead community. I upgraded fro, a 2006RT (Hexhead) to a Camhead (2011) and my inquiry is about MPG. On my 06, when I kept my RPM under 5K (3rd gear, 35-45mph, 4th 45-60mph) I was able to maximize my MPG. Now, this Camhead is throwing a wrench into this. I was riding my bike today and was riding it like my 06 and my MPG went down. Then when I spun it up, keeping the RPM between 4-5k it went up. So....do the Camheads like to run a little higher?

On a side note, the gearing changes are taking some getting used (that and the turn signals. I have lost track how many times I have hit he horn thinking a paddle was there). Not used to running third gear to 60mph without that Hexhead shimmy and shake.

Thanks everyone

Mike

Evening everyone:

This may be an inane question, but as states above I am a newbie to the Camhead community. I upgraded fro, a 2006RT (Hexhead) to a Camhead (2011) and my inquiry is about MPG. On my 06, when I kept my RPM under 5K (3rd gear, 35-45mph, 4th 45-60mph) I was able to maximize my MPG. Now, this Camhead is throwing a wrench into this. I was riding my bike today and was riding it like my 06 and my MPG went down. Then when I spun it up, keeping the RPM between 4-5k it went up. So....do the Camheads like to run a little higher?

On a side note, the gearing changes are taking some getting used (that and the turn signals. I have lost track how many times I have hit he horn thinking a paddle was there). Not used to running third gear to 60mph without that Hexhead shimmy and shake.

Thanks everyone

Mike

Evening Mike

How did you determine that your mileage went down? If you went by the onboard computer then it might not have given you accurate mileage.

If the mileage computer & miles are not reset at every fill up then it can sometimes give errors in fuel mileage.