IGNORED

Preventive maintenance

R1100RT97

My 1997 R1100RT has 52000 miles on the clock. Since I am new to the BMW world, at what point in time do I need to have the input shaft serviced? And how much does this service cost at a BMW dealer?

You never need to have it serviced. But it can be inspected through the starter port. The simple way is: remove the starter, pull in the clutch and tie wrap it, put the transmission in gear and see how much you can move the clutch plate relative to the input shaft by working and watching through the starter port.

If the clutch ever needs to be replaced you can clean the input shaft then.

But you should consider replacing the hes and intank hoses.

Edited by roger 04 rt

Thank you for the reply. Since I am new to BMW you may have to explain in layman's term what two pieces I need to replace. H e s probably stands for hall effect switch or sensor but I have no idea what the other one is please clarify thank you again for your time

Edited by R1100RT97
...... Since I am new to BMW you may have to explain in layman's term what two pieces I need to replace. HES probably stands for hall effect switch or sensor but I have no idea what the other one is please clarify thank you again for your time

The Hall Sensor on all of the R1100/R/RS/RT/GS bikes were made with the wrong type of wiring in the HES harness. It gets brittle and crumbles, leaving the wires bare and subject to fail either by touching or water. All of this happens underneath the outer sheath so you rarely can see it. Either buy a replacement or pull yours out and ship it to GSADDICT who rewires your part.