IGNORED

No Backlit Controls

Stu K

so I took my first night ride and silly me discovered that the switch gear was not backlit. Fo some odd reason I assumed (ugh oh) that they would be...are the 17's the same?

I haven't either, but for some reason I thought the RT was. Whats funny is that the buttons on the left side of the fairing are back lit in red...

The newer Multistrada 1200 has backlit control switches, but AFAIK that's the only bike with backlit switches.

It does look pretty nice at night and I didn't find it distracting at all.

When I started riding years ago, you were lucky if your headlight worked, now we worry about lighted switch gear :grin:

I had a car one time that had a bad electrical connection somewhere and every once in awhile all of the lights would go off. It was pretty exciting when that happened while driving on a winding mountain road at night.

Edited by Green RT

<?

If you're riding an RT, you're still lucky if the headlight works.

Odd, I never had any problems with my 3 RT's.

I just put my 4th one in on my 2010.

<?

Just looked at your tag line and I would have guessed that with a 67 & 69 Triumphs in the corral you would think electrical problems were situation normal... Lucas Electrics founded by Joseph Lucas, the price of darkness :D

Seriously though, that isn't normal. Check for abnormal resistance/voltage

<?

Just looked at your tag line and I would have guessed that with a 67 & 69 Triumphs in the corral you would think electrical problems were situation normal... Lucas Electrics founded by Joseph Lucas, the price of darkness :D

Seriously though, that isn't normal. Check for abnormal resistance/voltage

My first bike was a 56 Triumph Thunderbird, so I'm pretty familiar with the Princ. I think the light switches were marked dim, flicker, and off. I'm sure you wouldn't see them at all at idle if they were back-lit.