IGNORED

R1150R - New Owner, Lots of Questions

Cinko

Just picked up a 2002 R1150R, Its got some work it needs, and upgrades I want, and since I am new to BMW… I have accumulated quite a bit of questions in my extensive 3 whole days of ownership.

Rather than blow up the board with them all separated, I'm just going to address them as a group here. If you can answer any of these great, I understand it's a lot of questions… but I really appreciate any help at all here.

I'm on a budget.. Hence why I bought an 02, so just keep that in mind if you reference anything to buy as I would prefer to order after market at a cheaper price then direct from BMW or its resellers if possible.

1. The exhaust was discolored and faded, I sanded/buffed the catalytic collector (mid crossover) this looks great and the stainless shines like new. The muffler did not have even a bit of discoloration, so I didn't have to do anything which is great =) , but the headers were discolored greatly. I sanded them and buffed them but never got them close to looking as clean as the mid-section. I decided to just sand blast them yesterday at my shop and they look very nice now, however here's my questions:

A. What are these headers made out of, because it does not appear to be stainless steel? (or it's a really bad grade of stainless)

B. What can I do to protect them, if anything? (I've use flameproof baked on paint before, but dislike the flat colors and how it looks)

2. Spark plugs (Okay I am not trying to start a debate sorry I know this runs close to oil threads sometimes)

I usually buy the iridium spark plugs for my bikes, I saw that Autolite's 3923 is for this bike.. but I can't find anyone to confirm if they have used the XS3923 (iridium) version in the R1150R…

A. Is this good/better to use or should I just stick with the regular copper 3923's?

B. It appears there just is one spark plug per head (2) total, and they are the same type, is this correct?