I’m not an engineer and I don’t play one on TV. But this is what I’ve culled from years of reading about the subject of uneven tire wear. And if I’m full of bull, one of our resident smarter people (of which we’re blessed with many) will tell me so. Gently, please.

All of the advice above is excellent. However, no one thing is responsible for uneven tire wear. Instead, it is a combination of the above and how it takes place as you ride and corner.

As Greiffster points out, a simple 1.5% road crown will not create the problems you’ve experienced. However, when you add the two sides together, you get 3% (we’ll get to how that math works in a minute), and 3% can be a substantial contributor. For the sake of this discussion, let’s assume the measurement of 1.5% so we have a constant to work with. And since it’s probably better to work in degrees, let’s just round it up to 2 degrees of road crown, or a summed difference of 4 degrees between the two sides.

First, there’s almost imperceptible differences in side-to-side tire wear when riding on a crowned road in a straight line. A bit more when braking, because the front tire deforms (compresses) some and thus exposes a larger portion of its side tread to the 2 degrees of road crown that exists (plus there's a microscopic amount of side slip due to the road crown), but we’re splitting hairs. Uneven front tread wear comes from cornering and, if you’re a bit of a trail braker, from that, too. But for this explanation, let’s work on the cornering.