IGNORED

Air compressor question

BeemerBerg

I have this little jewel of a compressor in my garage: https://m.harborfreight.com/8-gal-2-hp-125-psi-oil-lube-air-compressor-68740.html

A basic 2 HP, 110 volt, 8 gallon unit. I've plumbed it to an overhead retractable hose reel at the other end of the garage. It's mostly used intermittently: to air up tires, blow dust off, air ratchet, etc., nothing heavy duty.

I've parked the compressor in an inconvenient location—It's a PITA to turn the unit on/off from the ‘unloader swithch' on the compressor. I often forget to turn the darn thing off or pull it's plug when I'm done tinkering, resulting in wifey asking “honey, did you remember to turn off the compressor” as the little guy ‘cycles on' in the middle of the night.

Question for electricians: would it be OK to wire a light switch to the compressors dedicated outlet to turn it off/on?

I'm not an electrician but I do most of my home wiring and I don't see why not. You could always single out that outlet and run the wiring for the switch to a more convenient location. Simple in concept but could be difficult depending on how your wiring is run.

You would have to pull that outlet to see if it's in the middle of a chain or the last in line. If the last in line easier to wire the switch, if the middle, you have to fork off the power for the follow on outlets.

Make sure your amperage on the switch matches the capability of the amperage on the compressor.

Also, I'm not a by the code type wiring guy, I'm a make-it-work guy, so my advice should be taken at your own peril, if you burn your house down, it's not my fault ;)

Danny caddyshack Noonan