IGNORED

Heated Jacket Liner Comparison

krussell

I've been using a Gerbing Microwire jacket liner for a few months. Recently, after purchasing a Heat-Troller from WarmNSafe I decided to try one of their Generation 4 liners. Here is my rough comparison of the two offerings.

I found the construction of both jackets to be similar. Both use YKK zippers. Purely subjectively, I think the Gerbing looks more a bit more polished. It has cuffs and a band on the bottom that make it look more like a regular jacket, and a touch of color in a couple of places as well. The WarmNSafe has reflective panels for visibility, and stretch material to keep the jacket close to your body. Both jackets way about the same, just over 2.25 pounds in the XXL variety.

The WarmNSafe jacket is a bit thinner. The Gerbing is slightly bulkier where the heating panels are. The WarmNSafe comes with a small zippered pouch for storage. Both jackets fit in the WarmNSafe pouch, but getting the Gerbing in the pouch was more of a challenge. Both jackets are mostly without wires.

Power entry for the Gerbing is via their Power Distribution Unit. It's a hard plastic square that holds the power connectors. Inside the jacket near the PDU there are some larger wires that are easily felt.

Power entry for the WarmNSafe is via coax connectors inside the left pocket. There is no rigid plastic PDU for the WarmNSafe. Inside the left pocket of the WarmNSafe is a pefect fit pocket for their remote Heat-Troller. The pockets on the WarmNsafe have zippers, the Gerbing does not.

Both have fleece lined collars, along with connecting cables on the end of the sleeves for gloves. If you aren't using gloves both jackets have small zippered pockets to control the cables. Gerbing uses metal grommets where the cables leave the jacket material, WarmNSafe uses a sewn buttonhole. Gerbing's jacket is made in China, the WarmNSafe in Thailand.