IGNORED

BMW Airshell Jacket

Skywagon

I recently received and filled out a survey from BMW about BMW clothing. My final comments were if I could find it, I might buy it.

Well...with that in mind, I have been shopping for BMW AirShell HighVis Jackets for 2 months. I live in Houston, Texas, the 4th largest city in the US. I have been to the three dealers here. One of them doesn't sell BMW clothing and the other two have basically nothing but t-shirts.

I decided to drive to the BMW dealer in Austin, Texas. They don't carry BMW gear either. So help me understand how one would shop for BMW AirShell jackets. I would like to see it, try it on, and make sure I like it before I drop $500 on an internet order.

Paul In Australia

Hi

I sympathise. The problem is somewhat the consumers fault. Especially in the states I think.

A dealer stocks expensive equipment, we go and shop at the dealer, try it on, take advice from the dealer and then go and research a cheaper price on the net.

What's the incentive for a dealer to stock accessories when you can buy direct on the net from lots of places at prices lower. Of course the pric is lower, the costs of sale are lower. THIS IS BECOMING A PROBLEM IN A LOT MORE THAN JUST MOTORCYCLE CLOTHING.

Don't pretend to know the answer to the problem but until it is solved dealers can't be expected to stock. At least not the average dealer. The mega dealers who can afford to set up an online site of quality and get quantity sales, will stock, but they are even becoming consolidated pretty quickly.

The internet consumer has caused this, not the dealers.

best regards

paul

Paul...agree on the internet issue. I guess my post could have been misleading. I plan to buy from a dealer even if it is more than an internet price. I just can't find one who has it.