IGNORED

Garmin MapSource Detail Levels

Albert

I'm not sure if this can be changed but it really bugs me. When I'm using Map Source (6.15.x) I can't control the display of roads without zooming. Here's the beef. I cannot display anything below Interstates or US routes until I'm at a zoom level of 1 mile. Above that, the lesser roads disappear. I need some setting for the threshold where certain items are or are not displayed (yes, I'm at the highest detail setting). There's some settings in the preferences, but road display doesn't seem to be one of them. It's driving me crazy, and that's a short trip.

Doesn't matter John. Once I back beyond a zoom level of 1 mile, the minor roads disappear. I realize it would be impracitcal to display all the minor roads at a zoom level of 20 miles, for example, but there's plenty of times when I'm studying something that showing all the roads at 5 or 10 mile zoom levels would be handy.

Al, I had some similar issues when I first went to 6.15.6,, it also had some issues with large flags & other object size issues..

When I updated to 6.15.7 most if not all the problems went away.. On my current 6.15.7 I still need to go down to 1 mile at the highest detail to see very small secondary roads or dirt roads but most major roads show up at 3 miles on high or highest detail settings..

I still likes 6.13.xx better for some (actually most) things (in fact I never updated on my other computers) but there is just enough new & better on the 6.15.7 for what I use it for to make me keep using it..

Twisty

It’s been a complaint about Garmin, both the units and MapSource forever. Many people think their details displayed algorithm is too conservative. If anything they seem to be heading the other way though. My (larger screen no less) new Zumo 660 display’s less detail than my older Quest 2 at the same zoom and map detail settings level. Go figure. I think it’s part of a dumbing down of their products to appeal to a wider user base.