IGNORED

Anyone using GEICO for their bike insurance?

stager

My annual renewal is coming up. I have used Progressive for many years and have no complaints (although I've never had a claim). My autos are insured with GEICO, so I'm considering putting the bikes there as well. Anyone had any experience with GEICO...good or bad??

Thanks,

Denis

As I work in the bike business I understand that Geico is a reliable insurance company. OTOH They are or were suppliers of free Radar and Laser guns to police departments and I think they are partially in the radar/laser business. There is some info here: http://bimmer.roadfly.com/z3/messages/archive/msgsy1999w44/15394.html

What I do know is that years back Maryland was one of the last states stuck in the 55mph speed limit law. The MD congress voted in the law change to 65mph. Geico made a extremely powerful lobbying and mail-in campaign against it "for safety", so the governor vetoed it.

On the insurance application they ask if you own a radar detector. If yes, they won't insure you.

More speeding tickets, more excuses for raised isurance.

I won't do business with them.

I had good experience with a GEICO claim on my first totalled bike in 1999. The other driver was at fault in the crash, she had GEICO insurance; and they treated me so well that I switched my auto insurance to GEICO.

I was less satisfied with the Progressive claim payment after a deer collision in 2007, although I'm still with Progressive for motorcycle insurance, out of inertia.

I should probably stick my head up and do some comparison shopping.