IGNORED

Battery Question - UPG UT51913-22 Adventure Power AGM battery

Luky

So has anyone tried an Adventure Power sealed AGM battery ?

My PC680 is about 6-7 years old and isn't holding a charge very well anymore and I'm looking for a replacement. A new PC680 is $120.49/shipped from Amazon (I have Amazon Prime) and the Adventure Power UPG UT51913-22 AGM battery is only $86.51 delivered.

Does anyone have any experience with these (Adventure Power)? I would like to save the $34 if they are equivalent batteries for a R11RT... I don't ride that often anymore so it will need to be able to sit for long periods between rides (weeks to months). I tend to throw on a battery tender over night before I go riding to make sure it is topped off...

I have no experience with "Adventure Power" but have very good track record with Deka AGM batteries. Have you checked if they make one that fits your bike?

For one they are made in U.S.A.

Just two weeks ago I bought a Deka ETX14 for my 1200GS.

Likely just as good as Odyssey but doesn't have the expensive name....

--

Mikko

Luky-

What you are looking for is called "shelf life," meaning the amount of time a battery can sit unused before self-discharging. Most sealed, maintenance free VRLA batteries have a shelf life of 3 months, measured at +25C (industry standard is that battery specs are measured at +25C - lower temps increase shelf life, while higher temps reduce it). If you check the specs for the battery you're considering and find more than 3 months, let us know. I sincerely doubt you will.

An Enersys Odyssey battery has a shelf life of approx 1.5-2 YEARS. You don't need a battery tender with this battery if you ride more than a few times per year, if your parasitic loads are extremely small.