IGNORED

Quick Advice, please!

StriderWalker

StriderWalker

My old jacket is about shot, and I've admired the BMW Rallye 2 Pro for some time. I can get one on ebay for about $600, plus the pants for $400. I ride entirely on road (no dual sport stuff), and would like an all season jacket for longer rides & touring. Your advice:

1) Is the Rallye 2 that much better made than the AST?

StriderWalker

AND,

2) How waterproof is it (with the liner inserted?

3) Is it bearable in warmer temps?

Thanks!

I have been using the BMW Pro Rallye2 pro suit for 2 years and I am very pleased with it. I have used the sit in a rainstorm without the liners and I stayed dry on a trip of 200+ miles. I have used the suit in 85 - 90 degree weather and it is not ideal for those conditions. One can remove the sleeves and main part of the jacket and ride with just the armor, which helps in hot weather. That is not possible with the pants, so your legs will get pretty warm. The suit is ideal for Spring and Fall riding and, with the liners installed I have used it down to 28 degrees while staying quite warm. The price you quote is very reasonable as long as the suit is in good condition.

Karl Riemer

2007 BMW K1200GT

I've only got the jacket.I did a 200km ride in the rain with no liner and it leaked (not badly, just got a damp tee shirt on the inside) via the badge and zipped sleeves. I reckon if i had the liner in, all would have been ok.

Other than that, in warmer weather, at least you can vent the jacket etc compared to my Dri Rider Nordic.

Cheers

Steve

Depends onm how you feel about liners.

$1000 buys a lot of gear, probably an Olympia jacket, pants, one-piece riding suit, and a couple of pairs of Oly gloves.

I sold both the BMW Rally suit and Olympia gear at the dealership where I used to manage. Here's my take.

First, you're in Oregon (I'm in WA) so I'm going to assume you're a wet-sider like me. I'll keep that in mind.