IGNORED

She can,t hear

taylor1

Hello All, Just a quick question.I took my girl for a ride the other day,[her first] and she absolutely loved it.Her only complaint was that it was to hard to talk.I have no experience in this ,so, can someone point me in a direction of an inexpensive com system that can be put on and taken off easily and does not have to be on the bike permanently Thanks Dave

There are lot's of expensive, cordless and portable intercom options on the market. Autocom is one I can think of. As far as a first time motorcycle passenger is concerned, she may be a bit inexpereinced and surprsied of the noise. Understanding that conversation, even with an intercom may be difficult due to the ambient noise and wind buffet.

What was it she was trying to convey to you and why was it important at that moment? Perhaps having prearranged hand signals and gestures before riding would help in this case? Explaining the trip, destination and sensation of riding before you start could help alleviate her concerns. Taking her first rides on slower and quieter roads could also help in he inability to communicate. If the conversation has nothing to do with riding, ask her to save the thoughts until after the ride.

I rode with a passenger for years and well before helmet intercoms were invented. We just got used to not talking until we were stopped at a traffic light.

John Ranalletta

Welcome.

More info would be helpful.

What do you ride?

Helmets? What kind? Open, flip, full?

Budget?

Want just an intercom or a system for iPod, XM, etc.?

Would you mount the unit in the bike, in a tank bag or carry in your pocket (battery powered)?

Most riders I know use the autocom brand of products. You can usually find used units on the various bike threads like advrider.com, but your accessory needs (helmet speakers, boom mikes, molded ear plug/speakers) can vary depending upon your answers to the questions above.