IGNORED

HID's

rideaway

Has anyone replaced there regular low beam H7's with HID H4's. Just thought it would be a good way to get more high beam light.

LeftCoastMan

I did. A fun job on the R1200RT!

I used 1offmotorsports, who makes it easy. I removed the tupperware and then all the stuff around the instrument panel. Pulled out the old lights. Put in the new ones. Zip tied the ballasts to the frame. Plugged it all in. Bright lights. It took me a couple of hours, almost all of it removing tupperware, mostly because I'm a tupperware removing noob. Honestly, as incompetent as I am with wrenching my bike, anyone can do this!

Sometimes, there is a CANBUS issue, which shows a failure, and 1offmotorsports sells an adapter that deals with the CANBUS issue. I bought it for my bike, found that I didn't need it, and returned it for refund. Or you can just try it, and order the module if you need it.

web.jpg

web.jpg

web.jpg

Has anyone replaced their regular low beam H7's with HID H4's. Just thought it would be a good way to get more high beam light.

Just swapped out the OEM H7's with HID H7's (35W) last Friday with great assistance from FLrider (Larry). :clap:

So much time to remove tupperware, so much time to put it back on.

With advice from a BMW service dept. we tapped into the accessory plug for power. This was wrong! :(

Canbus error showed up though lights worked just fine. Bike runs fine though there are several interesting side effects of the odd install we will fix tomorrow (before installing same in Larry's bike).

1. Can not set cruise control. :cry:

2. Gas gauge shows no fuel. :eek:

3. DTE very QUICKLY dropped to 0 (within 2 miles) from 85 miles. Still shows dashes after fueling.

4. Stereo maintains power for 60 seconds after ignition is switched off (normally goes off instantly). :S

We expect all these problems to clear after rectifying the mistake. Updates to follow.