IGNORED

Cycle Pump Tire Inflator

tchap

I'm considering purchasing a Cycle Pump from Best Rest Products,

http://www.bestrestproducts.com/c-10-cyclepump.aspx

Looks like a pretty good item but they aren't cheap. Anyone have experience with them?

$100 is a lot (they offer a small discount to AMA members) but I'd rather spend the money on something reliable than drop $40 on something that blows up half way through the first use.

Thanks for any feed back!

I've had a CyclePump since 2006. It's a quality piece of kit, although bulkier than the Slime pump. It fits in the space between the seat and the tail-light on my 1999RT, along with a string plug kit, the OEM toolkit, and a supplemental bag of tools. If I were buying today, I would probably go for the slime, because it's slightly smaller (although the carrying case isn't).

I have no direct experience with the Slime, but it looks like it doesn't come with a BMW-style power adapter (someone here will correct me, if I'm wrong about this :/ ). In any case, it's not a lot of work to wire one of the connectors that comes with the slime directly to the battery, although I would be more comfortable with a fused connector. Check your underseat storage area to see if the 6 x 6 x 2.25 inch carry case will fit; if not, you may want to find/make a smaller case to fit the 4 x 4.5 x 2 inch Slime pump, or stow it somewhere else, such as a side case.

I've had a Cycle Pump since 2006 and it works like a charm. Whether it's any better than others, or worth the $100, that's a question only you can answer.

Bronx Cheer

I have the mini inflator from Aerostich. Just $47 bucks and works great. Comes with all the electrical attachments with an option for the BMW plug.

Firefight911
an option for the BMW plug.

Just know that a modern CANBus bike will NOT support any cycle pump unless you have bypassed the system and connect direct to battery. The CANBus bikes will sense an over current and shut down the plug.