IGNORED

PaintGard?

Dave39

Is anyone familiar with this stuff? http://www.helmetheadcycle.com/product/3267/cycle-gard-paintgard-for-bmw-r1200rt

Couldn't find anything on a search here. I'm mainly concerned about the side cases. On my previous bike , as a newbie, I banged them up on a couple of slow drops. Haven't done it yet on new bike, but I worry. I'm not sure a thin PaintGard (3M Scotchcal Paint Protection Film) would prevent scratches on the cases if I do it again.

No, this type of film is designed to protect from light road debris in the course of riding, and maybe the occasional scrape against your boots when you climb on - not from a tip. Try BMW #71607693675

71607693675.jpg

Never tried them myself, but they surely would be more effective. I believe they stick in place.

-MKL

Thanks. I did see the BMW guards, but they appear to protect only along the bottom of the cases. I guess the real remedy is to keep the rubber side down. I've managed to do that for over a year now.

Dave -

Take a look here - I bought one of their kits for my saddlebags when I first got my bike (2.5 years ago) and the kit has done a great job. You can't tell the protection is on yet it has saved me from lots of boot scratches and other 'incidents'

Auto Trim Designs

Just a satisfied customer.....

Jim

DaveTheAffable

Well...The "McGyver" came out in me a couple years ago year.

Down to "Joann's Fabrics" I went. A local chain of fabric, arts, and crafts. All the way in the back of the store they had fabrics and vinyl for re-upholstering furniture.

"Hmm.... clear vinyl...ohh, some that's thinner. Oh, wait.... some that's even thinner... WAIT...some that's REALLY thin! And it's CHEAP....by the yard!"

I used some cardboard patterns, a "Rolling Cutter", and a couple hours later had fairing covers, and tank protection. A little water with a drop of soap in one gallon of water applies it.