IGNORED

Aerostich Transit

UberXY

The Fedex guy delivered my Aerostich Transit suit today and I gotta say, I'm impressed right out of the box.

It's very heavy duty - much much more than I expected - and I think it has more knee and shin protection than an NHL goalie. All in all there are nine impact pads, including a large one for the back. It weighs a little over 11 pounds.

I ordered this $1500 suit sight unseen and with some anxiety. However, I've been riding in a Roadcrafter for ten years, and I figured if the Transit was at least the quality of the Roadcrafter, it would be ok. Well, Andy really came through on this Transit - it's amazing. Quality leather, great lining, industrial strength zippers, well padded, no bells and whistles, no crazy graphics, and in the manly color.

Now I find myself looking forward to riding in a heavy rain on a cold day so I can check out how waterproof it actually is.

BTW, I rode in leathers (Brooks, Bates, Vansons) for 20 years and then switched to textiles for the last ten years, largely to beat the heat. After the break in period on my RR was over, I started thinking about going back to leather; hence the Transit purchase.

More after the first big rain.

248_249_2a_4.jpg

markgoodrich

I'm more interested in hearing about the first ride in 90-degree, high humidity temp, than rain.

I wish Aerostich would use CE-approved armor. Yeah, yeah, I know about all the anecdotal stuff, but there's only one repeatable, observable testing standard. Sorry to go off topic...I really am interested in how it performs in the heat.

"CE" in and of itself is not impressive in any sense. More than half of CE approved products, at least in the electronics we deal with at work, are "self certified" by the manufacturers and are thus allowed to bear the seal. Hardly proof of anything, objective or otherwise.

Aerostich is quality stuff and their pads have gone through some testing as shown in the catalog.