IGNORED

80 grams on rear tire

randy

I have been changing tires for about 6 years now. once I used 20 grams. most rims take 5 - 15 grams max. I just installed a diablo supersport on my R1200st rear rim. It took 80 grams to balance.

I am guessing the only thing I can do is unseat the tire and rotate it 180 degrees. I have never seen a rim/tire combo needing this much balancing.

shoot most times I do not even balance my tires. I just did it this time because this was my first tire change on this bike.

ok end of rant

That does seem like a lot. I also don't usually balance my tires......haven't been for over 50k miles. That being said, I think curiosity would make me pop the bead, spin it 180, and reseat it. Just to see what happens :grin:

Randy, I quit ballancing tires some time ago. I do spend a lot of time ballancing the wheel by itself one time. After that, the tires seems to never change much. I've checked a few times and it seems good every time. The whell, especially with TPM, needs weight to ballance.

aggieengineer

I'm a nut about using the minimum possible balance weight on wheels. I have the heavy spot marked on my wheels, and know exactly how much weight it takes to balance with no tire. I mount the tire, temporarily stick on the balance weight, and can then see where the heaviest spot is on the tire. I'll then rotate that spot to line up with the wheel balance weight (the light spot on the wheel).

I've only encountered one really bad tire, and that was a Korean-made Continental Road Attack.

Lone_RT_rider
That does seem like a lot. I also don't usually balance my tires......haven't been for over 50k miles.

THATS IT! That's why your splines went! Resonence vibration from the unbalanced tire transmitted through the drivetrain back into the splines causing metal fatigue and therefore FAILURE! :grin::dopeslap::rofl:

*he ducks*

/hijack