IGNORED

Repair tire puncture, or replace tire?

Ballerman

This may have been answered elsewhere here, but I couldn't find it, so forgive me. The relatively new rear tire of my RT (a Metzler Tourance) was punctured by a screw. I've plugged it, and now I want to get it repaired or replace it. BMW dealer says they won't repair tires because liability is too high. I've seen some opinions that say motorcycle tires should not be repaired. Too risky if repair fails on a tire that gets more abuse than car tires. So... Should I try to find someone who will repair the tire, or play it safe, trash it, and get a new one? BTW: I'm not a mechanic and won't do it myself.

Afternoon Baller

If the screw puncture is on the flat tread part & not near the side wall & didn’t damage a cord then personally I would have no problem riding that tire in repaired form until it was worn out.

If in doubt call the tire manufacturer or go to their web site as most motorcycle tire companies have a tire repair recommendation as well as tire repair reduced speed & other cautionary recommendations.

I have run tires with the inside patch repair that SOS sells. These patches have a plug type stem on them which pulls thru the hole & leaves a 1" diameter patch on the inside of the tire. Many cycle dealers use this type of repair.

Interesting that you should bring this up. Here's my recent experience (2007 R1200RT)...

I was riding on a secondary hwy and picked up a nail. My tire pressure sensor gave me a warning for about 15 seconds then went into a flashing red triangle indicating SOMETHING'S SERIOUSLY WRONG. I pulled over to hear my tire hissing and within a minute it was dead flat.

I got the bike back home and just plugged it from the outside. The tire was near replacement and since we only had another couple of months riding I thought I'd try to hold out for a new tire until next spring when the sales were on.