IGNORED

riding boots

Bear1

Are there any suggestions for a nice, comfy riding boot that I can wear around the office with jeans, that won't look like I just stepped off the race track? Now that the weather has started to cool down, I would like to start riding my bikes to work more often, but don't always want to take an additional pair of "walking around" shoes with me.

Paul Mihalka

I was always very happy with the Cruiserworks boots. Very high quality, comfortable, waterproof. They are pretty much the style you are looking for.

During this past year the company changed ownership. I have no experience with their products. Their boot style is unchanged. The prices are up. Find them here: http://www.cruiserworks.com/Home.aspx

Why not just put some shoes in the office.

Any type of boot will go with jeans. But the thing for me is comfort. I like to take any boot off, and put on something more comfortable.

dc

I don't ride around in sandals, but I also don't feel the need for boots that give serious protection.... ever. At the top of my foot safety hierarchy are almost-knee-height tall lace-up Doc Martens for all-day scoots. Pretty good against a lot of get-off hazards, but they don't qualify as serious protectors.

You need to match the counter-measures to the risks and think-through your safety regime. Opinions might vary on this topic.

But I do use serious weather protection in the winter. Nobody likes shifting with frostbite.

Ben

great riding weather here, if only it would stop raining

I'd suggest the Sidi Street Boot. I've worn Sidis on bicycles for 11 years and motorcycles for 3 years. The only negative thing about Sidis is it can be hard to find a dealer. They are very comfy, well made shoes that will last forever.

Danny caddyshack Noonan

+1

Leave my shoes there. Sometimes bring them home on Friday nights and back on Monday. Leave them, and the boots, near my personal drawer in my desk to use the odor to deter those who might be too curious.