IGNORED

Tire Pressure and Nitrogen

jbr7t

So I've been running Nitrogen in my cage tires for quite some time. 100 degrees or 10 degrees the pressure doesn't vary. Is anyone using nitrogen on their motorcycle tires?

Afternoon James

Sure, I have been running around 78% nitrogen since the late 1940's. Acts just like regular air to me.

You probably should check you air pressure gauge as it doesn't sound like it's working correctly if it doesn't show any tire air pressure difference between 100°f & 10°f even with nitrogen.

Danny caddyshack Noonan

Using a custom mixed gas like Dirtrider.

The pressure difference you should be seeing is about (313/263)=1.19 or 19% difference assuming no change in tire volume which, isn't exactly correct but, not a bad assumption within about 1psi or so.

Does NASCAR put nitrogen in their tires? There's a lot of tire research going on during races, so I would kinda think that if there was an advantage, they'd be all over it.

That said, I'd be afraid to use it in my motorcycle tires; no telling what it would do to the balancing beads that are in there. :grin:

----

Afternoon James

Sure, I have been running around 78% nitrogen since the late 1940's. Acts just like regular air to me.

You probably should check you air pressure gauge as it doesn't sound like it's working correctly if it doesn't show any tire air pressure difference between 100°f & 10°f even with nitrogen.

:D :D :D LMAO :grin: Me Too!

During my Shifter-Kart racing days, the vast majority of experienced racers ran only 100% nitrogen in their tires.

But for me, air was good enough.

Kart tires normally run between 7-12 psi, so maybe heat expansion at lower pressures is a bigger factor. Don't really know.

Lots of reasons racers run nitrogen. Some legitimate & others a bit wannabe.