IGNORED

Extended warranty coverage XtraRide Powersports

yellojakit

My factory warranty will soon end on my 09 k1300gt. I am thinking about purchasing XtraRide Powersports extended coverage, a Protective insurance, for an additional 36 mo. worth of coverage. Anyone have this coverage or can comment on its reliability? Thx.......

My factory warranty will soon end on my 09 k1300gt. I am thinking about purchasing XtraRide Powersports extended coverage, a Protective insurance, for an additional 36 mo. worth of coverage. Anyone have this coverage or can comment on its reliability? Thx.......

I have no experience with XtraRide Powersports extended coverage. However, I have been very satisfied with the extended warranty I purchased from Interstate through my dealer. I've had to use it several times and they haven't refused coverage.

Conventional wisdom says extended warranties are not worth it. Too many exclusions, too many stipulations, too many loopholes for the company to get out of paying. If you're dead set on getting one, better get the policy in hand and read ALL the fine print. There will be a lot of it. Make sure its the *actual* policy, not a shortened explanation of it. Then make an informed decision.

And ask yourself these questions:

What does it cost?

What does it cover (what does it exclude)?

Is there a deductible I have to pay for each repair?

Will I really keep this bike for 3 more years?

Is it transferable? Is there a fee for this?

Does all maintenance (oil changes etc) have to be done by a dealer?

etc.

I have read 2 policies in the last few years, just for kicks. There were so many ways they could get out of paying it was almost criminal. YMMV.