IGNORED

Head light strobes

cpayne

I noticed my 1150 RT-P head light strobes.

When I turn the head light on. (Right handle bar switch to the top).

Light turns on and then after couple seconds light strobes.

I have to turn the lights (I think fog lights) on the right and left on the head light and keep the head light switch in parking light mode. If I turn on the high beams in parking light mode no headlight strobe.

ALL the police lights were removed and wires cut.

I saw where a modulator can be added. I think that may be what is happening. I'm a noob, so I have no clue

check the emergency light switch on the right handlebar (on standard RTs it's the heated handgrips switch.) Make sure it is off.

The headlight modulator is controlled by a switch that may be mounted on the left handlebar next to the RTP's heated handgrip switch. However, that switch (the modulator's switch) and by extension the modulator only receive power if the emergency light switch is on. In other words, the modulator can't be used unless the emergency lights are turned on. The modulator is usually mounted on the aux battery in the "glove compartment" on the left side of the bike. So if they didn't strip the aux battery, there's a good chance they left in the modulator.

You can get the wiring diagram for this accessory and many others at BMWMC.NET. Turn off your pop-up blocker first or this website won't work for you.

Good luck

check the emergency light switch on the right handlebar (on standard RTs it's the heated handgrips switch.) Make sure it is off.