IGNORED

Aerostich vs. Motoport?

Hedgry

I'm ready to get into a more serious riding suit. My current getup is a Tourmaster Intake (mesh suite with zip in liners). I've been using it for 3 years and it has gotten the job done. I ride pretty much whenever it's above 35 deg F, rain or shine. The zip in liners work fine and it's nice and cool in the hot weather. My main thrust for getting a "better" suit is protection but I need something that I won't roast in on my RT. My neighbor down the street has used Aerostich for a long time and recently got a Motoport kevlar mesh jacket. He said it was "much cooler" than the Aerostich stuff. Before I talked with him my plan was to ride up to Duluth and buy an Aerostich suit but now I'm reconsidering. My key criterion are excellent crash protection, comfortable in very hot weather, but with 3 season versatility, and comfortable for long trips (I do a fair amount of touring).

Or maybe I should just stick with what I've got?

I'd appreciate some insight from the collective!

If you don't mind messing with liners, the Motoport mesh Kevlar is a good choice. It's MUCH cooler than a 'stich, especially behind a fairing. I'm nearly always too hot in my 'stich on the RT, but it's OK up to high 80s on the V-Strom with cut-down windshield.

That being said, if style matters to you, the Motoport suit is, if possible, even uglier than the 'stich. It's also pretty stiff, and much more hassle to get into and out of. And if you're dealing with temps over 98, it actually flows too much air without the liners, dehydrating you and making you hotter (at least in low humidity).

I have had my roadcrafter 1 piece and motoport air mesh each for about 8 years. I do not use the motoport liners. I use frog toggs. However I live in Atlanta, GA and get caught in rain about 8 days a year. So take that for what it is.