IGNORED

Tire Balancing Beads

RevRay

I don't. I'm not a fan of adding any additional unsprung weight. I've also heard that they can wear down in size and get stuck in the air valve.

I'll say this. I used them once on my previous bike--an F800ST. I had a set of tires that cupped badly. I put Dynabeads in the replacement tires. Same tires, same bike, same roads, same rider. The second set did not cup.

As a political scientist, I realize that to have an accurate test, I would have needed more data, perhaps alternating with and without over four or more sets of tires. But I traded the bike soon afterwards. I have a different brand of tires on my current bike and don't have serious cupping issues, so I haven't gone back to the beads.

So in my case, I would say that the evidence suggested that they might help.

On the other hand, I couldn't feel any of the increased smoothness that the manufacturers claim. But I live in Pennsylvania where, I'm convinced, we hire engineers from Burkina Faso to maintain our roads. So nothing is going to make for a smooth ride.