IGNORED

Gonna Need Music...

A friend and I are planning a long road trip for next year.

Since we'll have plenty of motorway miles to ride I am considering getting some headset to play music.

Here's the deal: I have an old MP3 player which is still going strong after seven years of almost continuous use. No Bluetooth functionality hence I would need some old fashioned earphones.

They also have to be good at cancelling external noise, since I am used at riding with earplugs all the time. Oh, and they have to fit well under a helmet.

Price is secondary to quality.

Any tip is greatly appreciated. :thumbsup:

Beats by Dre Phenomenal sound quality and they block everything on the outside. I've been riding with them for over a year and they are great. I only paid around $100 for them.

You might look at S-Plug earbuds. I've been using them for 7 years and think they are great. They do a great job of eliminating outside noises and sound fantastic. The main thing for me is that they don't become dislodged when I put on a tight fitting helmet. They are a little pricey, though.

Etymotic has a great line of in-ear earphones. I still use occasionally the ER-6, long discontinued. A riding buddy uses HF-3 and likes them a lot. These are not cheap; both models are in $100 range.

A tip: I use "Buff" headware (google that), like a balaclava, when wearing helmet. This absorbs sweat and lowers the "stink factor". Importantly, it allows sliding the helmet on/off without ripping out the earphones.

However, I actually found that on a really long trip the earphones become uncomfortable. Ear speakers (earset mounted in helmet) are much less painful.

Wired earset kits are available from several manufacturers; my best experience was with J&M (their portable version is the Integratr IV, which will run above $200 for the unit with one helmet headset kit). It offers the loudest volume of any intercom that used ear speakers - something to consider on a long ride with earplugs in.