IGNORED

Autocom Active Plus-Duo intermittent

blackyam

Hi. My wife and I use our Autocom Active Plus-Duo as an intercom only. It's not wired to bike power, but uses the 9V battery option. On the last three or four outings, the Autocom has been working intermittently. I've ensured fresh batteries. I'm not a techie, but is there something (easy) I can check on the unit or is this a lost cause? TIA.

If this is a lost cause, what are my options for a good, reliable replacement that would be simple to install and is not very expensive? Wireless or wired. We both use Shoei Multitec helmets. TIA again.

---John.

If you remove the battery you'll see that the wires leading from the battery connector terminate in a white connector that's plugged directly onto the circuit board. It's simply a push on connection. It's possible that, in the course of changing the battery, the connection has pulled out a bit. The connector (long flat white strip) pushes straight down onto the board. You may also want to check the connector at the battery. The female side of a 9v connector can become bent and make poor contact with the battery as well. Both simple to check. Good luck.

Kakugo and Albert, Thanks for your responses.

Kakugo, I've emailed Autocom using the link you provided. I'll wait to hear from them. Thanks.

Albert, thanks for the suggestion. I'll check that the connector is properly seated. Do you know where I may buy a replacement connector? Radio Shack maybe? I guess I'll check Radio Shack because I could not find a replacement part on Autocom's website.

Finally, in case I do need to replace my system, what do y'all think about the Cardo Scala Rider TeamSet Pro?

Thanks again.

---John.

My guess would be Autocom would be the only source (it's liable to be proprietary). It could be something simple like a wire pulled from the connector that any electronics repair person should be able to fix. Hopefully it just needs to be pushed back on and you're done.