IGNORED

Ape bars

UberXY

How do you turn a motorcycle with ape bars?

I've been riding for 35 years, including a few years of racing vintage widow-maker two-strokes in WERA. For me the primary component for turning a motorcycle is rider weight shifting.

I see a guy locally almost every day riding an HD (surprise!) with giant apes. I sat behind him at a light this morning and could see that his handgrips were even with his ears. Not only does that seem really uncomfortable, I just don't see how he turns the bike at speeds over 20. He can't shift his body mass, can't shift his weight from peg to peg, and he's in a really awkward position for counter steering.

Have you ridden with ape hangers? Can you do the mountain roads we all love, or are you confined to interstates and in-town slow speeds?

I'm just curious, not condemning, because my hat is off to this guy for riding in single digit weather in leathers.

Never rode ape hangers. Seems like it might take a little getting used to. But it doesn't strike me as being completely obtuse. I would guess it'd take around the block a couple times to get the basic program.

Perhaps I misunderstood you - but you really should master countersteering. No weight shifting required, and much better control of the bike.

That guy with the ape hangers probably sits perfectly still, and uses countersteering to get around.

I took a spin on a friends Road Glide with what I'd guess you'd call, mini apes. He swears by them, I didn't feel the love.

Pat

Sat on one once. Felt weird, as if I'd have to stand on the pegs to turn it. But, I never rode one, so I can't say for sure.