IGNORED

Battery -- replace as preventive maintenance

blackyam

Hi. I have a 2010 R1200RT that has the original battery. The battery has not given me any trouble yet, but I am wondering if I should replace it soon anyway.

Do y'all replace your batteries after a fixed number n years as preventive maintenance, or do you wait for signs of trouble before replacing your batteries? What would be the signs of trouble? I really don't want to be stranded some place because of a bad battery.

(I'm sorry if this has been discussed lately. I'm not good at searching the archives.) Thanks.

---John.

areyouolsen

Right now, I have a battery voltage display on my radar detector (other stand-alone units serve the same purpose) and just monitor the battery before I start the bike for lower voltage capacity.

Before that, I would just ride until failure. I can always push-start it and get to where I need to be. Your comfort level with that attitude may be different than mine, though...

Guest Kakugo

Sadly, experience tells us BMW OE batteries can die a sudden death without warning. That's what happened to my brother on his GS.

I was lucky in the fact mine started giving signs of senility: upon start the >ESA!< warning message was occasionally displayed, but quickly disappeared and no error code was stored. I finally decided to change battery after one morning I got slower start than usual.

That's your call: an ordinary battery is relatively cheap and can be changed after a couple of years without losing too much money. More exotic batteries (like Odyssey or Shorai) are considerable more expensive but should also last considerably longer. I say "should" because even among these highly regarded brands duds pop up.