IGNORED

What would you wear?

JaySc

With the arrival of a new (to me) bike, I'm taking the opportunity to re-evaluate parts of my riding. I feel as though my level of riding gear is not really adequate, but I am perplexed as to how to make it right. Any input would be greatly appreciated!

I'm a student and use the bike primarily for commuting. A few times a week I ride across town (no more than 15 miles one way), and I ride to campus Monday-Friday. The ride is no more than three miles one way, and depending on traffic I typically don't exceed 35 or 40 MPH. Some backs road, some are more populated.

So here's my issue: I've been wearing (aside from my helmet of course) a heavy leather jacket, closed toed shoes, and whatever pants the day calls for. I feel like I should be wearing moto specific pants and boots, but is that overkill for my commute? This would mean taking pants and shoes every day, then going inside and changing, and potentially going back to the bike if I don't have room in my bag for pants and boots that day.

Haven't been down on a motorcycle "yet" (if you're in that camp), but I've been down on a road bike around 35 before, so I'm quite familiar with what happens at the speeds I'm typically traveling around. Planning on getting more gear for the days that I'm out and about in town (and so that I can look at traveling longer distances), but I'm really curious to know what you folks would do on a daily basis in my shoes.

I've even thought about picking up some light weight leather shoes for daily wear, as surely even that would be better than New Balances. Am I off base there?

Thanks for any input!

Firefight911

First off, let's dispel with any thoughts that the gear you wear is dependent on the type of travel (long distance versus commute), speed (town or freeway), and potential hazards (urban versus rural). Crashes happen in all environments and they all have the potential to harm.