IGNORED

Intercoms

2001 r1150rt

2001 r1150rt

I'm looking at getting a intercom, including Bluetooth, with ability to make phone calls, link to GPS, listen to tunes etc. Considering a Sena smh10; doesn't look like the 20s is available yet, and it's more expensive.

Anyone have any pearls of wisdom regarding the Sena smh10? Other brands I should consider? Look forward to your comments.

DaveTheAffable

I have a SMH 10R installed in my Schubert C3 and I am very happy. Not all the cellphone features work on my 3 year old Android smartphone, but others, and especially those that have iPhones say they're great.

What amazes me, and the people I call, is the voice quality. I consistently have people I'm talking to say, "No way! You're on a motorcycle? It sounds better than when you call me from home."

Sena and Scala are both very good. I have several years experience with the Scala.

They have the upper end models the G9 and newer G9X and the more basic models that have less features such as the Q3.

Since you say intercom, I'm assuming you're also going to do rider passenger on top of the GPS, music, phone.

The older G9 and G9X will do all of those and more. They have built in FM radio as well.

The G9X has a feature allowing the system to "split" the Bluetooth music between rider passenger. Meaning only one music source is needed.

The G9, each person uses their own music source. But by now, the software upgrade should be out to allow sharing as well. Should be.

No matter what brand you buy, reading the directions several times and playing with the system in your living room will insure your happiness.

Too many times people will install the unit and the morning of the first ride they will try to learn how to do 5 functions and teach the passenger as well. This normally causes frustration and blaming the unit.