IGNORED

Why are boots important?

MacGruber

Don't get me wrong, I'm not riding in sneakers. When I started riding again last year I got a pair of ropers style cowboy boot. What are the advantages of boots specifically made for riding?

Thanks.

Ray Lindner

Boots made specifically for riding will have additional protection over your ankles and be a firm fit with zips to ensure that they do not come off in the unfortunate event of an uplanned "get-off".

I once had a bike come down with my ankle joint being impinged between a sharp point of the rear pegs and a rock on a trail. Without the ankle protection I would have had a much more serious outcome.

You may look "cool" in your cowboy boots but correct protection is more important.

Think about the rest of your riding gear also. If you do not have body armour in your jacket then you are courting a bad outcome from any incident.

I speak from experience where I amazed myself in even standing up after a crash. Without body armour I hate to even think what the result would have beem.

szurszewski

Don't get me wrong, I'm not riding in sneakers. When I started riding again last year I got a pair of ropers style cowboy boot. What are the advantages of boots specifically made for riding?

Thanks.

As above:

Motorcycle boots should do a few things - provide crush protection laterally, like if you pin your foot under your bike; provide abrasion protection for when you're sliding down the road under your bike or all by yourself; provide protection against twisting your foot in a different direction than your leg.

Other than that, of course, they should provide a good grip on the pegs, be comfortable in a riding position, be flexible enough to let you move and stiff enough to provide proper support, fit well with controls (brake/shift lever).