IGNORED

K1200rs seats

53Gravely

Hi all! Complete newbie here. Need some K-bike seat/riding position help.

I test rode a 2000 K1200rs yesterday and fell in love....would have plunked down the $ right there but the seat/seating position aggravated an old hip injury from a skiing wreck. This used to bother me on my interceptor back in the 80's but it would occur 90 minutes into a ride.....on the K bike it was inside of five minutes!

The width of the back of the tank/wrap around seat is too wide and feels like it's trying to pop my left hip out to the side. If I can find a solution, I'd go back and buy the bike in an instant!

Bike currently has a Sergeant set installed.

Foot pegs are on the lower setting (they also seem 2" further back than a Japanese bike would be!)

The sale would include bar extender/risers (--not installed now)

Does anyone else get this from the width of the tank?

Is the stock seat higher/narrower across the top? Does it allow you to slide back further so you can close your legs without the "splitting wedge" effect of the wide tank?

The sergeant seat seems mighty low. Are there other aftermarket seats that are narrower/higher so you can slide back and minimize the effect of the wide back of the tank?

Should I be looking at an R-bike?...are there tanks narrower?

Thanks so much for any help! Want this bike badly but no sense in buying a sport tourer that you can't ride comfortably ,

Welcome on board...

I had a K1200RS and absolutely loved all there was about it except the ergonomics. I had a local custom seat builder re-do my OEM seat and it helped some. The fundamental issue for me was the "lean-forward" and pressure on the grips that I never got over.

(go figure... now in addition to my RT, I have an R1100S... about as sporty as you can get, but I digress)

I never thought the tank was the problem, but everyone has their own preferences and problems.